Winnats Pass (SW #33) Bike Climb - PJAMM Cycling

1.2 mi
683 ft
11.1 %



Cycling through the grass covered limestone walled pass is spectacular. This is one of the top must-do's of the 100 Greatest Britain Cycling Climbs. 
Average grade is 11.1%.  40% of the climb is at 10-15% and 24% is at 15-20%.  The steepest 500 meters is 16.3%.

See more details and tools regarding this climb's grade via the “Profile Tool” button.

Roadway:  Two lane road with no center line, in good condition and with no shoulder.

Traffic:  Moderate to heavy.

Parking:  On the side of the road or the car park just before the beginning of the climb (MapStreet View). 
Provisions:  There are several locations to get food and beverages in Castleton where the climb begins. 
Before heading out on any cycling adventure check out our Things to Bring on a Cycling Trip and use our interactive check list to ensure you don't forget anything.
This is #33 on the 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs, Britain and is one of 12 climbs in the Midlands section. Use the “Routes in Area” button on the menu bar above to see other bike climbs in the region.  

Visit Peveril Castle while you are here for your climb. This is a ruined 11th-century castle overlooking the village of Castleton. The castle is one of England’s earliest Norman Fortresses built by Henry II in 1176. During your visit also consider tours of Peak Cavern and Speedwell Cavern.  See: Google Map Things to do in Castleton with Reviews.



Not Yet Rated



No Climbs Found


Let us know what you thought of this climb. Signup for our FREE membership to write a review or post a comment.
Already have an account?

Climb Profile Not Found

Cycling Winnats Pass - road passing through a valley area between two steep hillsides, far hillside is green and closer hillside is brown and rock-lined, blue sky in background

Cycling Winnats Pass.

This climb comes in at number 33 on Simon Warren’s list of the 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs in Great Britain.  Warren writes of this climb, “for sheer drama, nothing matches Winnats Pass, a winding road through a natural cleft, surrounded by towering, grass-covered limestone pinnacles”  (100 Greatest Cycling Climbs).  

Cycling Winnats Pass - photo collage, roadways lined with stone fences, green hilsides, sheep grazing along hillsides, sign for 20% grade and cattle grid, PJAMM Cycling logo in corner                         

Midway through this climb is a short but spectacular canyon.  On the day we climbed Winnats Pass in August 2018, there were sheep grazing along the roadway in the shade of the steep hillside on the northern side of the road.

Cycling Winnats Pass - photo collage, straight and curved roadways leading through green hillsides and pastureland, PJAMM Cycling logo in corner

Winnats Pass.

Winnats Pass has hosted the British National Hill Climb Championships in 1947 (Vic Clark), 1949 (Bob Maitland), 1953 (Roy Keughley), 1957 (Erick Wilson), 1959 (Gordon Rhodes), 1972 (John Granville Sydney) and 1977 (John Parker). Although Winnats Pass was the most popular site for the Championship from 1947 to 1977 (included seven times), it has not hosted the event since because a nearby road collapsed in a landslide, making Winnats too important for transport connections to close the road for a cycling event.

The climb begins just west of Castleton at the “Peak Cavern Peveril Castle” sign.

Cycling Winnats Pass - photo collage, white building with sign for "Speedwell Cavern" at base of hillside, signs for Speedwell Cavern, bike parked against sign posted on stone fence saying "Peak Cavern Peveril Castle", ticket for Speedwell Cavern

Start of climb.

Visit Peveril Castle while you are here for your climb.  This is a ruined 11th-century castle overlooking the village of Castleton.  The castle is one of England’s earliest Norman Fortresses built by Henry II in 1176. During your visit also consider tours of Peak Cavern and Speedwell Cavern.

Left and Center Photos:; Upper right: Speedwell Cavern Facebook;

Lower right:

The climb is 1.9 kilometers at a stout 11.1% average grade.  The 450 meters just after bending right halfway through the midpoint canyon gets your attention at 16.5%.  

Cycling Winnats Pass - one-lane roadway through green hillsides, cloudy blue sky

1.3 km mark -- towards end of 16.5% 450 meters.


Steepest ½ Kilometer begins at 800 meters (16.3%)

The Winnats Pass climb begins just west of Castleton (population 642 in 2011) ,a village in the High Peak district of Derbyshire, England.  Castleton was the location of one of the manors owned by William Perverel around the time of 1086.  Another interesting historical location in the area is a medieval leper hospital, called the Hospital of Saint Mary in the Peak, which is thought to have been the village’s eastern boundary.  In 1837, St. Edmund’s Norman church was restored from its 13th century ruins.  Throughout the years, Castleton has also prospered as an area for lead mines (including Odin Mine, one of the oldest lead mines in England).  Visitors to the area can tour four caverns created by mining: Peak Cavern, Blue John Cavern, Speedwell Cavern, and Treak Cliff Cavern (Castleton).

The climb is located in Peak District National Park, which is the UK’s oldest national park (established 1951):

“The Peak District is an upland area in England at the southern end of the Pennines. It is mostly in northern Derbyshire, but also includes parts of Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Staffordshire, West Yorkshire and South Yorkshire. An area of great diversity, it is split into the northern Dark Peak, where most of the moorland is found and the geology is gritstone, the southern White Peak, where most of the population lives and the geology is mainly limestone, and the South West Peak, with landscapes similar to both the Dark and White Peaks.

With its proximity to the cities of Manchester, Stoke-on-Trent, Derby and Sheffield, and easy access by road and rail, it attracts millions of visitors every year” (
Peak District)

Access to full Climb Summary requires a PJAMM Cycling PRO Membership!

It takes less than a minute to sign up & with your PRO membership you can:
  • Rate climbs, post comments and share your experiences on any of our climb pages
  • Create bucket lists of climbs & mark the dates you complete them
  • Weather data for all climbs - Start & Finish
  • Upload photos to your member page to customize your PJAMM Cycling experience
  • Utilize all of our interactive tools - Profile & Routes in Area
  • Download climb route .gpx files
Sign up for a PRO Membership

Already have an account? LOG IN HERE